Lent and Holy Week

The forty day Lenten season of penitence and fasting in preparation for the observance of the passion and resurrection of Christ begins on Ash Wednesday.  This universal day of penitence, during which ashes are imposed on the forehead in the form of a cross, reminds us of our mortality and dependence upon God.

The observance of Holy Week begins on Palm Sunday and ends with the Triduum, the three most sacred days of Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday and Easter Eve.  There are special liturgies on each of the three days of the Triduum.

On Maundy Thursday we remember Christ’s admonition to “love one another as I have loved you,” enjoy a simple meal together in the Great Hall, and pray with Christ in the garden at the altar of repose.  At the Good Friday liturgy we contemplate the suffering and death of Jesus on the cross and remember his descent to the dead on Holy Saturday.

The Great Vigil of Easter culminates our Holy week celebration. Held on Holy Saturday evening, this liturgy begins in total darkness, the new fire of Easter is lit, and the message of redemption is proclaimed.  The sacrament of Holy Baptism and the first Eucharist of Easter are celebrated. 

Our 2011 Holy Week and Easter Day schedules are as follows:

The Sunday of the Passion: Palm Sunday, April 17
The Reading of the Passion and celebration of the Holy Eucharist  7:30, 9:00, 11:15 am

Monday-Wednesday of Holy Week, April 18-20
Celebration of the Holy Eucharist  9:00 am

Maundy Thursday, April 21
Agape Meal: a gathering of Christian fellowship  6:00 pm (reservations required)
Maundy Thursday Liturgy  7:00 pm
Watch at the Altar of Repose  8:00 pm - Midnight

Good Friday, April 22
Sacrament of Reconciliation  11:00 am - Noon
Good Friday Liturgy  7:00 pm

Holy Saturday, April 23
Holy Saturday Liturgy  9:00 am
Great Vigil of Easter  8:00 pm

Easter Day, Sunday, April 24
Easter Liturgy and celebration of the Holy Eucharist 7:30, 9:00, 11:00 am